top of page

Don't Forget the Herbs


Now is the perfect time to plant some herbs. Herbs are a great way to add some flavor to your meals or dips. You can grow them for their medicinal properties. Or you can grow them to make your house smell lovely. There are a thousand uses for herbs, so what are you waiting for? Try growing your own today!

Everyone knows that the freshest herbs taste the best. You can't get any fresher than growing them on your own. You can even dry them and use them throughout the year. I also want to point out that if you are buying your herbs at any location, you are paying a premium, when you could be growing your own for pennies. Herbs are some of the highest priced items in most stores. Don't waste your money paying high prices for semi-fresh herbs.

I'm going to tell you about 5 basic herbs that are the easiest for me to grow. They are simple, cheap, and easy to maintain.

#1 Basil

I find that basil is the number one herb that is the easiest to grow from seed. There are several types and flavors to choose from and they grow better the more you harvest from them. I started with a regular sweet basil, which was the easiest for me to grow. Thai, lemon, and Genovese basil are favorites of mine as well.

#2 Thyme

Thyme is a great herb to grow on your own. You only have to plant this herb once to enjoy it for many years to come. Thyme is hardy and can survive through most winters on its own. I started with common thyme and I literally threw some seeds in a pot 3 years ago and that's it. Besides having to water it (since I grow mine in a pot) I have done nothing else to it. I harvest plenty from it every year, and it keeps going strong.

#3 Oregano

Oregano is another perennial herb that grows in abundance. It grows like a weed, so be careful where you plant this one. I find that seeding this one directly in the ground as opposed to a pot works the best. Oregano can survive the coldest winters, and I rarely have to water this plant.

#4 Bay Leaf

You are probably going to have to purchase this one as a plant first to get started, but it will continue to grow for years to come. It is also easy to propagate and produce several more plants from cuttings. I have grown my plant in a pot indoors for many years now. I forget to water it most of the time, and it is the one house plant that I have never managed to kill.

#5 Chives

Chives can be an abundant perennial even if you are not trying. The key is to seed it in a pot outside and let it reseed itself over and over, year after year. Let your chives flower and you will never have to plant this again.

There are many other choices for you to choose from. Find your favorite herbs and start growing them now. It's easy and you can plant several plants in less than an hour. You won't regret it, and you will enjoy them for years to come.

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page