top of page

Scrimping on the Little Things for Christmas


 

Christmas is coming at us like a freight train. Is it me, or is time speeding up? This past year just flew on by. So many things to do this time of year. Is your head spinning yet?

Now is the time of year when your budget will take it's biggest foreseeable hit. If you are like me, then by the beginning of December you have barely started shopping for presents. Every year I make a vow to get it done by August, but it never happens.

So how do you stick to a budget when you have all these things to buy? No longer can you rely on the Black Friday deals unless you are willing to camp out in front of the store on Thanksgiving. Cyber Mondays are usually only good for big-ticket items. Decorations for the holidays can also blow your budget if you are not careful. Where does that leave you?

With a few simple tips, you can save some money this year. I'll also give you a few tips to get you set up for bigger savings on next year's Christmas too.

Wrapping & Ribbons:

Normally we don't pay a lot of attention to the gift bags, wrapping paper, or bows when we are ripping them to shreds trying to get at our presents. So why pay good money for them? You don't need all of those fancy ribbons and bows. No one is judging your wrap job unless you used a towel maybe to wrap a gift.

Wrapping paper was meant for the trash, so buy the cheapest stuff you can find. I'm serious. Avoid the marketing ploy of needing to make your gift pretty. It's a gift, and nobody will remember how fancy you wrapped it after it's opened.

Don't be fooled by the $1.99 rolls of wrapping paper either. At first, they seem like a bargain, but they are only big enough to wrap 2 large presents in total, so it will end up costing you more in the end if you have to wrap a bunch of gifts. You'll want to purchase a large roll for under $4. That should cover most of your presents. If you need to have a little variety, buy a few rolls, but make sure you save them to use every year until they are finished. Nobody will notice if you use the same wrapping paper a few years in a row. Also, make sure you buy your supplies at a discount store. Gift shops and greeting card stores tend to overcharge for those items.

I suggest you skip the bows and ribbons altogether. They can be the most expensive items when it comes to gift wrapping. You can buy a bag of bows for $2 at Walmart if you must have them, but I rarely use them anymore. I usually cut out a piece of the wrapping paper to use as a name label and leave it at that. Nobody has ever complained.

A better alternative to buying ribbons that are already made is to go to a fabric store and purchase some simple elegant ribbon for your gifts and make your own. I find though, that I have no talent or time to make my own bows, so I just skip them. Either way, you save.

For future budget savings, collect and save all the fancy bows, ribbons, and gift bags that you receive with your gifts. Ask co-workers and extended family if you can have those items rather than having them thrown away. Reuse and recycle those if they can be saved. That way, you never have to buy those items again! It's a win-win.

I don't go as far as saving the wrapping paper after it's been used, but hey, if it saves your budget, go for it! Like I said before, it was meant for the trash, so if your budget requires that you re-use the paper, then why not?

You can also catch the sales this year after Christmas on wrapping paper, ribbons, and bows. Stock up this year when Christmas is over so you don't have to pay full price next year. And stick to the lowest price possible when shopping. Shopping around will save you money.

Greeting Cards:

Cards are beginning to get a bit pricey these days. Have you noticed? I recently picked up a card I thought was funny for a friend's birthday, and turned it over to discover a $10.49 price tag! What?! Excuse me?!

Granted they have music and lights on them now, but I am not paying more than $3 for any card , no matter what they come up with for them. On average, I pay about 16 cents per card. It's the thought that counts right?

Now please hear me out on my theory about cards. Most people get a bunch of Christmas cards from co-workers, family, and friends. I am certain that those people enjoy the fact that someone cared enough to include them on their holiday list, so if your card isn't the fanciest of the bunch, then I'm sure that they aren't going to notice.

While I may buy a "special card" for certain loved ones at Christmas time, I generally get mine at a local dollar store. I try to get a couple of boxes which usually contain 30-50 cards for $5. That way I can mix and match on a budget, and not everyone gets the same card. (This is great for co-workers and neighbors.) I can also use the leftover cards the next year, because who remembers what card they got from someone the year before, right? Again, people remember that you sent one, not what you sent. When the season is over, you can stock up for next year when everything goes on sale.

Decorations:

I am a huge fan of Christmas decorations. I wish I could buy every Christmas lawn ornament and stick it in my front yard. Nothing would make me happier than to have one of those yards packed with Christmas lights, animated characters, and theme music so that everyone could enjoy a little holiday cheer. It's one of my favorite fantasies about Christmas. (I currently only have outside Christmas lights on display. No blow-up characters, no waving elves, no banners or light displays. )

In my humble opinion, outdoor Christmas decorations are luxury items. You don't need them to enjoy your holiday, so if you don't have the money, then don't purchase any. If you can't get them for free or make your own, then you don't need them right now.

For example, I inherited my mother's Christmas decorations from the 70's. I still use most of them after 40 years, from Christmas lights and ornaments to towels and dishes. Most hold precious memories and no one has Christmas lights or ornaments like mine. What can I say? Things from that era just hold up. All of my other decorations were bought used, on clearance, or free. I would rather enjoy family heirloom decorations than waste money on that Christmas wonderland fantasy.

If you must do a little decorating during this time of year as I myself must, then always buy used decorations when possible. Check yard sales, thrift stores, and Craig's list for some great deals. Many churches have Christmas Bazaars with handmade decorations or even Etsy can keep you from paying full price and your decorations will be unique.

I do believe in having at the bare minimum a decorated Christmas tree budgeted in for the year. If you didn't budget this year for a tree, then finding a decently priced tree can be a challenge. You have only a few options.

If you are fortunate to live in an area where it is legal to cut your own tree from nature, then you are all set. But the rest of us need to be creative.

You can still find farms that allow you to cut your own tree for a small fee. This is great if you own a chainsaw, but most city dwellers do not.

The next option you have is to wait until the week of Christmas. I assure you that there are still decent looking trees left at this time, and the price tends to be at least $15 lower. I can get a beautiful tree the same week of Christmas for $25 in my area. The only downside is that you can't enjoy your Christmas tree for as long as most. And, it's a busy week to be decorating your tree.

The best option is just to skip the tree this year and wait until next year when you have budgeted for it. I don't want to be the Grinch, so if you have to have a tree, then at least shop around for the best price and don't get hung up on the type.

My Christmas First Tree was a Plant!

Certain trees can be priced from $40-$250 depending on type and size. Keep that in mind when shopping. I usually purchase a $40 tree from a parking lot vendor. I don't know what kind of $40 tree I will be purchasing each year, but that is the maximum I am willing to pay. Set a limit and look for that vendor that sells close to that price. Another tip is to talk to the vendor and see if he will lower the price. It never hurts to ask.

You can always save up and purchase a fake tree. That will cut the cost of you having to buy one every year, but you miss out on all of those wonderful tree smells.

Now that we've covered decorating, cards, and wrapping presents, I hope you can find ways to save this Christmas. It's scrimping on the little things that can really save you big in the end.

Spend time with family and friends, give simple thoughtful gifts, and eat good food. Those things make all the hustle and bustle worthwhile this time of year.

I hope you all have a wonderful holiday season!

 

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page