top of page

Become a Better Cook, Ditch the Supermarket

Have you ever watched a cooking show where the chef salts and peppers a slab of red meat, fries it in a pan, and it comes out tasting amazing? Have you ever tried to replicate that at home and had it taste as bland as a shoe? Well, I have done this very thing time and time again. I thought perhaps I was using the wrong salt or using old pepper. I thought I was using the wrong pan. I thought I just couldn't cook!

It didn't matter what cut of meat, or from which animal, it all tasted terrible compared to what I was getting at my local restaurants (not that I eat out very often). I purchased cuts from different stores, lamb, beef, pork. It all tasted bland and sad. And that was the problem. I was buying my meat in the wrong place, the grocery stores. I just didn't know that was my problem.

Hear me out on this. I'm not suggesting that you go spend a fortune buying the best kinds of meat just so you can add a little flavor. I'm talking about where you buy your meat and from who. Finding good, cheap, clean sources is the key.

A lot of supermarkets use animals that are not always managed in the best ways. Large companies use feedlots and battery cages. Some animals never see the light of day. Animals are fed a diet that is meant to maximize weight gain as quickly as possible, which may not be healthy for the animal. These are facts, not my opinion. I'm not trying to start a debate on these things, just open your eyes to something I myself was blind to for way too long.

Once I learned a few things about how our supermarket's source their meats, I decided I didn't want to waste any more money buying cheap inedible meat. Instead, I decided to try some alternatives. I searched for a local farm and bought my first pair of free-range, non-GMO, fresh, ethically raised chickens. I kept it simple and roasted one of them and instantly discovered what I was missing.

As soon as I switched to ethically raised, free-range animals, I discovered that the problem with my cooking wasn't my technique. I was buying my meat from the wrong places. I instantly became a better cook! Everything tasted so wonderful. I thought people should know that there is a huge difference in flavor.

What I suggest is shopping at small farms, local butchers, and farmer's markets. Try buying selections of meat from people who know exactly where and how that animal was raised. Those are the people who can help you meet your budget by offering suggestions or alternatives to what you are already buying. I have found that their products are far superior in taste, flavor, and nutrition.

If you are thinking that you can't afford to go this route, think again. I have found that I can get some really good deals on various cuts of meat from my local sources. I have also discovered that they have cuts of meat that they don't put in the display case which you can score for a cheap price. I suggest you be open to trying new cuts of meat and I promise you will not be disappointed.

If you simply cannot find a cheap source for your meats, then my alternative would be to eat less meat. Think about it. Would you rather eat meat that tastes blah all the time, or eat meat that tastes amazing twice a week?

Break free from the poor quality of meat sold at your supermarket. Check with your local extension office to find farms or meat shares in your area. Many farms who are small but raised ethical free-range meat may have an online option for you as well.

I'm sure if you are resourceful, you can make the change to buy only ethically raised meat. I can assure you, your taste buds do not know what they are missing if you haven't done a comparison.

The same is true for all of your produce as well. Flavor comes from the farm, not the grocery store.

Do yourself a favor and become a better cook by ditching the supermarket meats. Get ready to discover a whole new level of flavor and taste!

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page