top of page

Making Milk Kefir

Milk Kefir Grains

Have you ever heard of Kefir? If not, don't feel bad, many have never heard of it. I had no idea what it was until a few years back myself. So allow me to explain what it is, and then I will show you what to do with it.

Kefir is the result of fermented milk. Fermented milk?

Some of you may have just lost complete interest in reading any further, but Kefir is genuinely amazing. For starters, Kefir is a natural pro-biotic. It has a multitude of reported health benefits from boosting your immune system to healing your gut. I'll let you research all of the amazing benefits of it to decide if it is something you want to add to your diet.

I have been drinking Kefir smoothies every day for a few years now, and I have completely eliminated any digestive issues I had. In fact, the whole family, including my dogs drink it in some form.

For those of you that want to eat healthier, you may have already learned that fermented foods contain many probiotics. For me, I just can't stand the sour taste of most fermented foods, such as sourdough bread, sauerkraut and kimchi, or kombucha. If you enjoy the taste of those things, you will still love Kefir. It tastes like plain yogurt. I don't enjoy plain yogurt either, so I make all kinds of other stuff with it.

You can use it in any recipe that would call for milk or yogurt. I have made bread, cheese, and yogurt using my Kefir but my favorite form is drinking it in s fruit smoothie.

I also want to point out that since the milk is fermented, people who are lactose intolerant can drink milk Kefir with no issues. It's gluten-free and has a low occurrence of allergic reactions. If you have certain issues or allergies, ask your doctor about Kefir.

If you decide to give Kefir a try for yourself, go ahead and order some online, but make sure they are "live" Kefir grains. Using live grains is the easiest way to get started. Once you have purchased your grains, you will not have to rebuy them to make future batches of Kefir.

You can use my Amazon link if you like: http://amzn.to/2GEo45V

Kefir does require a little maintenance. You must feed it every so often with milk. If you decide to make your Kefir daily, then you will need to feed it daily. It can also be stored in the fridge with some milk for a few months with no issues. I have saved my Kefir up to 4 months at the longest while topping it off with a little milk every month or so. I usually make only one batch a week, then store it until I am ready for some more.

Once you get your grains, you want to put them into a glass jar. I use a quart size canning jar for my grains. You want to avoid using metal containers for Kefir.

Then, you add milk. It can be cold, or room temperature. I fill my jar to within 2 inches of the rim. I place the top on without screwing it on to allow gasses to escape. You could use cheesecloth, a towel, anything.

That's it! No measuring, no fussing. Your grains are ready to ferment for the next 12-24 hours on your counter.

To get the most benefit from your Kefir, I suggest using raw milk. But I realize not everyone has access to raw milk. Currently, I use whole milk purchased from my local store. Do not use low-fat or skim milk to make your Kefir.

Your Kefir grains will vary in size depending on how much they have been fed. This will change how long it takes to make Kefir, but after a few batches, you will know when it's ready by the look. Temperatures will also affect the rate of fermentation. The warmer the temperatures, the faster the milk will ferment.

Your Kefir grains are ready to be strained when your desired thickness of the milk is achieved. Do not ferment past 24 hours. If the milk starts to separate into whey (the clear part) the Kefir needs to be strained. This will not affect your Kefir in any way. Simply stir the milk and it will return to it's normal thick appearance.

Strain your Kefir grains and save the milk you strain. This will be what you drink. Return the grains to the jar and add more regular milk. Either repeat the process to make another batch, or store in your fridge with the lid sealed.

That's it, you are done! That wasn't so hard?

If you like the taste of plain yogurt, you can drink the strained milk as is. You will want to drink it within 24 hours if unrefridgerated, or within 48-72 hours if refrigerated.

Now that you have your Kefir, you have many options for it's uses. I'm going to give you my recipe for my most common use of Kefir. Fruit Smoothies. Just remember, you can use it in many different ways, and all of them will be healthier! If you are still unsure, check out my video on how to make Kefir: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vdA1BTi0DBY&t=1s

Kefir Fruit Smoothie:

Ingredients-

  • 4 Cups Kefir

  • 1-2 Cups raw organic honey (I like it sweet)

  • 1-2 Cup frozen/fresh organic fruit such as strawberries, bananas, berries. Do not use citrus fruits like pineapple, oranges, or mango.

Put them all in a blender and mix. You are ready to enjoy!

You can store any leftovers in a glass container in the fridge for up to 48 hours. Stir before drinking.

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page